Residence Halls

A Rundown of the Residence Halls

Today I got a couple questions about what dorms were available on campus, and I thought it might be a good idea to give a basic crash course on the PCC residence halls. This is just going to be a very basic listing with a few key features, but Denis Labrecque did a couple of quick dorm tours of Ballard and Bradley on his YouTube channel.


The Men’s Residence Halls.

When I was an undergrad, there were three men’s dorms: Ballard, Coberly, and Young Tower. This summer, the college is making substantial changes to the men’s dorms by clearing out both Ballard and Coberly and preparing to populate the newly completed Rice Tower. By the fall of 2019, the men will have a choice between two (and a half) dorms:

Rice Tower.

Okay, so this is about a fifth of the full lobby. I’m barely exaggerating. Photo by PCC.

Named after Dr. Bill Rice III, Rice Tower will house male students in fall 2019. It’s the second tallest building in all of Pensacola with eleven stories, and can house 996 students (four to a room). The dayrooms are massive, and each floor has a sound dampening practice room and a prayer room. Oh, and let’s not even talk about the showers: a solid surface with no grouts, making White Glove cleaning an absolute dream. The girls aren’t jealous. At all. *Ahem*

The local news channel did a walk-through tour of Rice in April, so be sure to check out their video if you want to see more of what Rice looks like from the inside:

Young Tower.

Young is the dethroned king of the men’s dorms, now that Rice is built. Young is a nine-floor tower at the convenient back door of the Four Winds dining hall. Young is known for their spacious four-person rooms, open closets, impressively modern lobby, and tends to be the tower with all the excitement. By excitement, I mean midnight fire drills, anti-bacterial explosions in the showers during White Glove, mattress slip-n-slides, and fifth floor Fight Club (although I think the club was relocated to Ballard last year).

Basically, everything exciting happens in Young Tower. Before Rice, Young was the place to be for male students.

Ballard Hall (Sort of).

Ballard is the oldest dorm on campus, dating back to the founding of the college. It originally was a co-ed dorm and acted as a multi-purpose building, since that was essentially the only building on campus for several years.

This fall, Ballard is going to become a co-ed dorm again, after being a men’s dorm for several decades. However, Ballard will only be available to students who are 23 or older, and men and women will be separated, the girls taking one half, and the guys taking the other.

The Women’s Residence Halls.

As an undergrad, I had the option of living in Dixon, Bradley, or Griffith. But again, because of Rice being built, even the women’s dorms are getting shuffled a bit in the coming semester.

Dixon Tower.

My happy home for the last four years. Photo by PCC.

Dixon Tower was my home for the last four years, and I loved living in it. As someone who’s highly sensitive to lighting, I found Dixon to be the most “happy” place of all the girls’ dorms: the colors were white and cream, with bright bulbs and pleasing landscape decor (except for fifth floor’s weird mushroom-theme going for it).

Dixon houses four girls to a room with a Jack and Jill bathroom connecting to a suite of another four girls. It sounds like crowded living space, but I was rarely bothered by it (and I’m an introvert). Suitemates usually stay on their half of the bathroom, and unless you all decide to strike up a deep friendship with one another, interaction usually is little more than an occasional “good morning.”

Bradley Tower.

See what I mean when I say it looks like a hotel lobby? Photo by PCC.

Bradley is the “hotel” dorm. When you walk into the main lobby, it immediately looks like you’ve walked into a Holiday Inn. There are floor-to-ceiling windows that stream in the Florida sun and a large staircase to first floor. Fitting four to a room, plus suitemates, the rooms tend to have blue wallpaper and dimmer dayrooms. The positive side? Bradley’s rooms are decidedly larger than Dixon’s, giving you and your roommates much-appreciated space.

Coberly Hall.

Coberly originally was a men’s dorm until this summer. Now that most of the guys will be living in either Young or Rice, Coberly is being converted into an “efficiency apartment.” This means, although smaller than Dixon and Bradley, Coberly will only house two per room. It will also be home to several graduate assistants who are working toward their master’s degree.

Griffith Tower (To Be Announced).

See that orange? That’s the color of back-alley murders, just so you know. Photo by PCC.

My friend called Griffith “the sketch motel” when she first lived there. During my freshman and sophomore years, the wallpaper was actually 70s orange and looked like a great set for a horror film (oh, and legend had it that Griffith was haunted, but that’s another post for another day). It eventually got a white paint job, but still had the smallest rooms and fit three people each. The upside was, according to most everyone I knew who lived there, Griffith was a tightly-knit community, and for all of its “sketchiness,” students loved it. Now the friend who originally called it the Sketch Motel is sad that she’s being moved to another dorm next year.

Because Griffith is getting a complete remodeling this coming year. At least for the temporary future, no one will be living in it while it’s being refurbished. Staying all within the footprint of the original building, the renovation will be adopting some of Rice’s cool new features (like the solid surface showers. Lucky). No more scary hallways. No more orange counters and wallpaper. No more ghosts. Probably.


So that’s the (very basic) rundown of the college residence halls. This summer holds a lot of changes and unknowns, if I’m honest, so even students who’ve gone to school at PCC for years don’t entirely know what to expect. We haven’t had a new residence hall in ages, so it’s all going to be new, fun, and exciting for returning students, too.

11 thoughts on “A Rundown of the Residence Halls”

  1. Hi! I’m thinking of applying here for when I graduate high school in 2021 I have a few questions. one of them is what are the admission requirements? additionally, what are some rules they have on campus? and what sports do they have for women to join? as well, how is the worship team? are they more in the hymn books or are they like more modern pop worship like Jeremy camp or MercyMe? I also have a few more but those are my most important ones at the moment, please let me know thank youuuu so much!:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey, Isabella! Sorry for the late reply, but I’ll try to give you some good answers:
      Admission requirements are pretty straightforward. I don’t believe you need any special score on standardized tests (though if you don’t take it or get below a certain score, I believe you start the semester on academic watch). Other than that, I’m sure they’ve got some of that listed on their official website: it’s been a long time since I applied. Haha
      Second, if you google “Pensacola Christian college handbook” (or PCC pathway) you’ll get our entire rule handbook. Rules generally are fairly conservative in nature, since the school aligns with fundamental baptist beliefs, so the standards are a little tighter than say, Liberty University.
      Sports are in two categories: Eagles sports, which is the main sports teams that play in the NCCAA, and collegian sports, which is part of our college’s Greek life. Eagles has basketball and volleyball for girls, and collegians have everything from soccer to basketball to broom hockey, softball, and even water polo I believe. Haha.
      Worship is pretty hymn oriented, not going to lie. We use the “Rejoice” hymnals that a lot of Baptist churches use that have songs in them from the Wilds camp and Ron Hamilton.

      Hope some of these answers help!

      Like

    1. Hey! Believe it or not, I didn’t get to explore Griffith as much as I wanted to once it was remodeled, but the parts I did see of it were beautiful. It’s still the smallest, but I believe they enlarged the rooms a little, and it now has much larger dayrooms with modern decor. I’m told there’s travel-poster-style art on all the floors. Each room also has a solid-surface shower, I believe, which makes it a million times easier to clean, and a fridge corner. Overall, I’ve heard nothing but rave reviews!

      Like

  2. Can you tell me more info about Bradley Tower? I have questions about what the dorm room layout looks like and what all comes with Bradley Tower (gym, music room, ect)… I will be attending PCC in Fall.

    Like

  3. Hi! I am a junior at PCA. I will be graduating next year, and had questions about dorms? 1. So what does the dixon dorm look like? Is it spacious like Bradley? 2. What are music rules in the dorm? Can you still listen to Christian pop music in your dorm? 3. Last question 🙂, why are the bathrooms shared with the suite next door instead of private bathrooms?

    Thanks for the blogs! They are really helpful!

    Like

    1. Hi, Alysha! Dixon was my favorite dorm. I thought it was the brightest and most comfortable. The halls tend to be light colors like yellow (Bradley was always dim with blue walls, which I found a little depressing). The Dixon wall art is also modern photography that looks nice (Bradley’s has really—and I mean really—dated watercolors, though they might have updated it since I was there). Dixon rooms aren’t quite as large as Bradley’s, but I found them comfortable. This is a student’s Dixon dorm tour that you might find helpful. I think she’s on an end room, which is why she doesn’t share a bathroom with suite mates: https://youtu.be/XU6_5-Hiah0?si=l7uCuk5ENE5cyeK9 Here’s another one: https://youtu.be/Eb-OkZYzAqw?si=xX1lPheKilph3n1Z
      Music rules still don’t allow for pop music or CCM-style music, but some of that is up to your own definition (for example, PianoGuys is equally considered pop and classical, so what can you do?). I will say that headphones are allowed in dorms, so your personal choice is more private to you.
      As for the suite vs private bathrooms, I’m not totally sure. End rooms have their own bathrooms (and a tub) but I’m guessing it’s more economical to have two rooms share. That’s essentially half the toilets, half the showers, mostly half the plumbing and probably limits the amount of water that can rush through the building simultaneously. It also cuts down on physical space and allows more rooms per floor.

      Hope that helps!

      Like

      1. Thanks! This really helps! Thank you for all of your post that will help a future PCC student like me survive 😂.

        Like

      2. Glad to help! Admittedly I’ve not upkept this blog since graduating grad school, but a lot of the info still applies. My brothers and I also have YouTube videos that show a bit of campus life. There’s been positive changes to rules since we made them, but they’re not woefully inaccurate yet!

        Like

Leave a comment